Strawberry Granita

I recently got 3 pounds of strawberries for $2.00. CRAZY! Normally, a small pack ranges from $3.50-$5.00 at my local Ralphs, and it’s not even organic! So when I saw it on sale at the new Korean market nearby, I had to get it! This was my chance to make strawberry granita!

The ingredients are simple and you may already have everything on hand! I had my strawberries chopped up and frozen because I planned on making smoothies with them, but decided last minute that I wanted to make granita. I suggest that you use non-frozen strawberries so that your blender does not struggle too much.

This is a delicious frozen treat that is easy to make, so give it a try!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb strawberries chopped
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 (or less) cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • sprinkle of salt

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Blend together the strawberries, water, sugar, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and salt
  2. Spread onto a plate or bowl and freeze for 45 minutes
  3. Mushy mushy strawberries

    Mushy mushy strawberries

  4. Grate with a fork and return to freezer for 30-40 minutes
  5. Still somewhat mushy, but it is starting to freeze

    Still somewhat mushy, but it is starting to freeze

  6. Grate again then return to the freezer
  7. Grate every half an hour until you get the texture you want
  8. After awhile, the ice starts getting grainy!

    After awhile, the ice starts getting grainy!

  9. ****If you don’t have time or are too lazy to return to the mix every half an hour, you can wait until it is completely frozen to grate with a fork****
  10. ENJOY!
  11. IMG_7954

Leave a comment