Pizza Bites

I was thinking of something to make after completely FAILING on my macaroons for the second time. Something that didn’t require too much work but still tasted good. I didn’t want to make a regular pizza because I felt like it was a bit boring, so I decided to make pizza bites! Easy to eat, and less “bad” stuff than a Hot Pocket!

This is good as a snack or a meal! I spent about $7 on the pizza dough, sauces, pepperoni, and cheese. Thankfully, one of my housemates let me use his spice rack so I didn’t have to shell out an extra $5+ on herbs. Ask around for the spices that you need and save money, especially because you don’t need a lot!!!

And though it was past midnight, I decided that I wanted to make them right then instead of waiting till tomorrow, so here’s the recipe!

**EDIT** I made these again the next day because I had most of the ingredients left and I just needed to get the pizza dough. I bought the “Classic” pizza dough from Pillsbury this time and I actually liked the taste a lot better than the “Artisan” flavor. Also, I made mini calzone types by cutting the dough into squares with a knife and added more layers of cheese and pepperoni. I also sprinkled some pizza seasoning on the top but it didn’t make that much of a taste difference. The layered calzone had a lot more flavor, but it required a fork and a knife. If you don’t want to spend too much time making small bites, I suggest that you try making the mini calzones so that you don’t have to make as many!

INGREDIENTS:

Pizza Sauce (if you don’t want to make it from scratch, you can just buy a jar of pizza sauce)

  • 1 8oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1 6oz can of tomato paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/3-1/2 teaspoon dried minced garlic
  • paprika (if you have it)

Other Ingredients

  • 1 roll of pizza dough (I used the Artisan Pizza Dough from Pillsbury)
  • 1 pack of pepperoni
  • 1 bag of shredded mozzarella
  • olive oil
  • parmesan

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. This is the cheese and pizza dough I used. You can use any kind you want!
  2. IMG_2598
  3. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees
  4. If you are making the pizza sauce, mix together the tomato sauce, tomato paste, oregano, dried minced garlic, and the paprika. You’ve now got your pizza sauce! Put some of the sauce into a ziplock bag so that you can pipe it onto the dough for a cleaner wrap. However, you can just scoop it on with a spoon if you want.
  5. IMG_2594 IMG_2595IMG_2601
  6. Cut the pepperoni into 4’s on one side and 3’s on the other. I cut my pepperoni so that one bite wouldn’t take out the whole pepperoni when I ate it. Cut as much or a little you want, depending on how much pepperoni you want your pizza bites to have
  7. IMG_2596IMG_2597
  8. Roll out the pizza dough. Be careful because these packages tend to POP while you are unwrapping them
  9. Get a circular cutter (I just used the mouth of a jar) or use a knife to cut the dough into smaller squares
  10. IMG_2600
  11. Flatten the dough as much as you can without making any holes and place onto a cutting board. The dough doesn’t stick so you don’t need any extra flour
  12. IMG_2602
  13. Place the pepperoni into the center of the dough. Put enough so that not too much of the dough shows underneath the pepperoni. Then, pipe or scoop some of the sauce on top of the pepperoni
  14. IMG_2605
  15. Top it with some mozzarella cheese and wrap. Pull the four corners into the middle and close it well so that nothing is coming out. You want to make sure that nothing leaks through so that it doesn’t come oozing out when it is baking. You can make them into any shape you want! Use your imagination!
  16. IMG_2606
  17. Once you have made the balls, rolls, or hot pocket look-alikes, add a little bit of olive oil over the top with a sprinkle of parmesan
  18. Bake on parchment paper for 8 minutes
  19. ENJOY! And let me know how it goes 🙂
  20. IMG_2607

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pizza Bites

Leave a Reply

