Veggie Omelette

This recipe was originally for a frittata but I don’t have the proper kitchen tools (deep fry pan that can go in the oven) to make it a frittata! I ended up cutting the recipe in half and making it an omelette. This veggie omelette is a delicious combination of healthy vegetables mixed with lots of feta cheese! Give it a try!

This recipe is especially exciting for me because I feel like I don’t cook enough vegetables on a normal basis. I was able to add so many different kinds of vegetables and it was seriously so so good.

INGREDIENTS: 2 servings (Replace any veggies you don’t like and add what you do like! :))

  • 6 eggs
  • 5-6 stalks asparagus
  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 1 leek
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1/2 jalapeño
  • 4 golden potatoes (pre cooked. I baked mine in a 450 degree oven for 30 minutes)
  • feta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable or olive oil
  • salt
  • cayenne pepper (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

Some of the ingredients I used

Some of the ingredients I used

  1. Cut the leek into quarters and chop into small pieces (this was my first time cooking with leek and it was SO exciting!)
  2. We are cooking with just the bottom of the leek

    We are cooking with just the bottom of the leek

    SO PERFECT <3

    SO PERFECT

    IMG_8908

  3. Rinse in a bowl of cold water and drain
  4. IMG_8910
  5. Chop zucchini in half and slice into even pieces
  6. IMG_8911
  7. Seed and dice your jalapeño
  8. Slice your potatoes
  9. Cut the asparagus into small pieces
  10. Bright, green colors!

    Bright, green colors!

  11. Start cooking the leek in 1 tablespoon of oil with a large pinch of salt on medium to medium/low heat (I kept my stove on medium to medium/high and the leek burned)
  12. Fry on medium to medium/low. You don't want to leek to brown!!!

    Fry on medium to medium/low. You don’t want to leek to brown!!!

  13. Add the zucchini, jalapeño, and a pinch of salt, and cook until zucchini is cook through partially
  14. Add zucchini and jalapeño

    Add zucchini and jalapeño

  15. Add the asparagus (add dash of salt) and cook for 1 minutes
  16. Add the spinach and potatoes (add pinch of salt)
  17. Spinach and potatoes added

    Spinach and potatoes added

  18. Whisk 6 eggs in a bowl with cayenne pepper
  19. I was practicing cracking the eggs with one hands and half the yolks broke....I need more practice!

    I was practicing cracking the eggs with one hands and half the yolks broke….I need more practice!

  20. Even out the vegetables in the pan and add the eggs
  21. IMG_8917
  22. Add as much feta cheese as you want
  23. Flip when the omelette is cooked half way
  24. Add more feta to the top
  25. ENJOY!!!! (delicious with ketchup and/or Tapatio)
Leave a Reply

