Kimbap-Not a Recipe

I don’t really want to type out a whole recipe for kimbap because it requires a bunch of different ingredients and variations, and I think it would be confusing if it was written out in a million steps. Therefore, I will just be writing about what I put into my kimbap and how I prepared my ingredients…does that make this a recipe?…I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to be formatting this, but hopefully, it will be at least a little interesting, and maybe even helpful!

Things I put into my kimbap:

  1. Rice: I used about 2 1/2 cups of uncooked rice and added a bit of sesame oil and salt, as well as a TINY bit of vinegar, to season it. Last time I made kimbap, I didn’t really season the rice and it made the kimbap a litttttle bland.IMG_3215
  2. Seaweed paper: I just got the kind from the Korean market that was on sale for $1 for 10 sheets.
  3. Fishcake sausage: Not completely what I was expecting, but I didn’t want to put Spam into the kimbaps like last time so I tried this out. I cut the sausage into strips, covered them with some raw egg, and fried them.
  4. IMG_3210
  5. Spinach: I blanched the spinach in a boiling pot of water and seasoned it with salt and pepper
  6. Danmuji and burdock: They came in a pack so I put 1 strip of pickled radish and 2 strips of burdock per kimbap.
  7. IMG_3216
  8. Perilla leaves: These leaves give the kimbap a delicious kick. I cut off the stems and cut each one in half for one kimbap
  9. IMG_3212
  10. Cheese: For those of you who haven’t tried this before, it may sound REALLY weird, but it’s SO good. You’re going to have to trust me on this one. It gives the kimbap a mouthwatering creaminess. And cheese is good in everything!
  11. Kimchi: I bought kimchi a few days ago and don’t like the “fresh” flavor when it’s not sour enough, so I kept it out of the fridge for the night and VOILA! It tasted perfect today. I added some kimchi for a juicy kick and it enhanced the flavor of the kimbap.
  12. Tuna: I mixed a can of tuna with a tablespoon of mayonnaise.
  13. Egg: I mixed 3 large eggs, put about 2-3 tablespoons aside for the fishcakes, and cooked it in a pan with a dash of salt.
  14. IMG_3209 IMG_3211
  15. Carrot: I chopped and sliced the carrot into thin pieces, and fried them with olive oil, salt, and pepper until slightly cooked.
  16. IMG_3208
  17. Sesame oil: I used some sesame oil to cover the finished kimbap before cutting them. It prevents the cut kimbap from sticking to one another and makes it taste better.
  18. And that’s it! Other things you can add are:
  19. Imitation crab: Placed in hot water for a few minutes until soft.
  20. Meat: Bulgogi and ground beef are popular choices of meat in kimbaps.
  21. Cucumber: Seeded and sliced.
  22. Whatever else you want or have on hand 🙂 Be creative!
  23. ENJOY!! 🙂
  24. IMG_3218IMG_3229
One thought on “Kimbap-Not a Recipe

Leave a Reply

