7 Month Update On My Menstrual Cup

Hello hello! I’m back again with an update about my Blossom Period Cup after using it for the past seven months!

You can read my first post HERE.

If you don’t want to read through the whole thing and want to know the short answer of whether or not a menstrual cup is worth it, the answer is YES! A thousand times yes! A million times yes!!!

As I stated in my previous post, the cup definitely takes a few cycles to get used to. The process of inserting and removing the cup was extremely foreign at first, but it’s gotten much better in the past couple months. While the results will not be the same for everyone, this little cup has changed my life.

The good:

  • Reduced my period anxiety to nothing. I don’t worry about when I am going to get my period anymore because I know that it’s not going to affect my life THAT much. Before, I would feel constant worry about when it was going to start so that I could prepare my bags with tampons and pads and plan around heaviest days. Now, if I know I’m going to get my period, I keep the cup in my purse inside its carrying pouch.
  • I never have to carry around pads and tampons! This is so much more freeing than it sounds, especially on vacations. Just pop the cup in your suitcase and you’re ready to go.
  • Fixed my sleep cycle. I don’t have to wake up multiple times a night to use the restroom anymore, nor sleep with a parachute overnight pad. Those things are heavy, suffocating, and so uncomfortable to use. Never again!
  • Most of the time, I forget that I’m on my period. No heavy pads, strings, or leaks to deal with, so it’s easy to forget for most of the day.
  • Don’t have to worry about Toxic Shock Syndrome. After hearing many horror stories about deaths related to tampon use, I always subconsciously worried that I would keep my tampon in too long on accident. Any time I felt unusual pain, a part of me would think “DO I HAVE TSS? IS THIS HOW I GO?”. Very dramatic, I know.
  • No leakages! While I never have to worry about leaks anymore, I do keep on a thin panty liner during my heavy days. Some friends I have talked to say that it leaks a little for them, so it’s not leak-proof for everyone.
  • Saved so much money already. Tampons and pads are very, very expensive.

Even though the cup is amazing, there are a couple drawbacks as well.

The bad:

  • They need to be cleaned at the end of the cycle. It’s kind of gross to have to boil the cup after my cycle. Even if I’ve done it a few times, it’s still weird.
  • You have to touch blood. Most women are probably familiar being around blood already, but it requires a little more interaction than a tampon or period does.
  • It takes time to learn how to use it. Everyone is different so it’s hard to teach someone how to use this. You have to spend some time to figure out what works for you, and the process can be frustrating and time consuming. However, it does get easier and quicker over time.

All in all, I am still very much in love with the menstrual cup and recommend it to anyone who gets periods.  Although unconventional, I think it would be an awesome gift for yourself, a friend, girlfriend, sister, daughter, or any woman in your life!

As always, there are many different types of cups made for all types of women! Please make sure you do your research before choosing your own cup. I chose the Blossom cup because of the price and safe materials (medical-grade silicone) they use. Their company is great because they have a money back guarantee for their products and the yellow one is on sale on Amazon right now for $12.95! (I am not affiliated with Blossom Cup. I just really like the one I purchased)

                                                

Leave a Reply

