Kumquat Vinaigrette Kale Salad (tweaked slightly from the Lemonade Cookbook)

If you have not tried kale before or don’t really like it because of the bitter taste, try this salad out. It has the perfect amount spice from the garlic and chili sauce, and just the right tanginess from the kumquats and limes. This recipe is from the Lemonade Cookbook, which is a cookbook made by the restaurant Lemonade. I tweaked the recipe a little bit to fit my own taste, but it has the same overall flavor.

If you know me well, then you know that I LOOOOVVEEEE the food at Lemonade. For those of you who are not familiar with SoCal, it’s a cute restaurant that serves healthy foods that they refer to as “comfort food”. I wouldn’t really say that it’s comfort food since it can take some getting used to, but once you’re hooked, you’re really hooked. If you want to try it when you visit LA, or even if you live in the area, here’s the website http://www.lemonadela.com/.

Thankfully, or maybe not so thankfully, we have a Lemonade on our USC campus. Last year, I think I went almost every school day and spent $10 to eat 4 small portions of their marketplace food. My poor, poor wallet. Now that I know how to make it, I don’t need to drop $2.75 for a scoop that I could shove into my mouth in one bite. I can have as much Kumquat vinaigrette kale salad as I want!!!!!!!!!

INGREDIENTS:

  • photo 1-2
  • 8 kumquats, halved crosswise, seeded and sliced (about 1/2 cup)
  • Cut so that you can see the triangles

    Cut so that you can see the triangles

  • 2 teaspoons sambal oelek chili paste (I had to Google this because I didn’t know what it was. It’s the other hot sauce that you see when you eat pho that isn’t the Sriracha HAHA I hope this description helps)
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
  • Juice of 2 to 3 limes (about 1/4 cup. I only needed 1 lime to fill up about 1/4 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (Don’t use too much olive oil and do not substitute the canola oil with olive oil because you will be able to taste it)
  • 1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 3-4 white mushrooms
  • kale (chopped into thin strips)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Chop the kale into thin strips (even the precut ones in the bag)
  2. Mix together your kumquats, chili paste, garlic, chives, lime juice, honey, and salt
  3. It looks a bit ugly at this stage, but keep going!

    It looks a bit ugly at this stage, but keep going!

  4. Once everything is combined, add the oil and whisk lightly to blend together (this is not an emulsified dressing, which means that the oil will stay separate from the rest of the dressing)
  5. Add your mushrooms and let them sit for a few minutes to soak up the dressing
  6. Whisk the dressing lightly and pour over kale and toss
  7. Chopped kale topped with mushrooms and the finished dressing

    Chopped kale topped with mushrooms and the finished dressing

  8. ENJOY!!
Leave a Reply

