Lemon Chicken Pasta with Baked Salmon

Hello! Hope all of you have been doing well! It was a long Monday for me and I ended up taking a 3 hour nap…oops!

I made this after wanting to make it for a long time and based it kind of off the pasta I ate at Souplantation a couple days ago. That one had asparagus so I considered putting asparagus into mine, but decided not to because I didn’t want to have to eat asparagus for the next 5 days or have to throw it out after using just a little bit from the bunch for this dish. I walked around Ralphs looking for a smaller alternative and decided to get a red bell pepper! It was the perfect amount and I used up the whole thing. You can use whatever vegetables you want in yours 🙂

As for the chicken, I suggest that you get the thigh meat because it’s a lot juicer than breast meat. Ralphs only sold a bunch of thigh meat in packages, so I got a seasoned one from behind the counter and washed out the seasoning at home. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

The recipe for the baked salmon is here if you want to make it. I don’t know if salmon was the best compliment to the pasta, but it was still pretty good! I think a simple salad can also be really great with this recipe.

I hope you enjoy the recipe!

INGREDIENTS: 2 servings

  • 1 chunk of chicken thigh (as much as you want) cut into strips
  • 1 bell pepper sliced thinly
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 cup chicken broth (low sodium/fat free)
  • a little less than 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • olive oil
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • 1 lemon (pour half and add to taste. otherwise, it can get too sour!)
  • parmesan cheese (I grated half and added half from the bottle. I put in about 1/8 of a cup but you can add more if you would like)
  • any kind of pasta boiled in salted water

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. If you are making the baked salmon, start with that
  2. Start boiling your water and boil pasta al dente (not cooked completely)
  3. Saute your onions in a little bit of olive oil until they start to brown, then add in your chicken and bell pepper (Salt and pepper when you add both ingredients)
  4. photo 3
  5. photo 1photo 2
  6. photo 1-1
  7. Once your chicken has cooked through, add the chicken broth and let it start to boil
  8. When the chicken broth has reduced a bit, add in your pasta noodles and let the noodles soak up some of the juices
  9. Add your cream and parmesan and stir in
  10. photo 2-1
  11. Stir, let boil for a bit, then add in your lemon juice, making sure that you do not put in too much
  12. You can taste the pasta at this point and add more salt or cheese if necessary
  13. Let the pasta thicken up a little bit before serving
  14. Place salmon on plate if you made it
  15. ENJOY!

Leave a comment