Super Simple Udon Stir Fry

This dish is SUPER easy to make and EXTREMELY cheap! And of course, delicious!! I got the udon noodles for 99cents, the spam at home, and a whole cabbage for 26cents! I don’t think cabbages are normally that cheap, but I went to the Korean market and they were selling it 5lbs for 99c. I’ve already made the noodles twice and I have enough cabbage to make it one more time. So for the udon stir fry, I spent a total of $1.07+tax.

INGREDIENTS for 1 serving

  • udon noodles (sold in packets at the grocery store. Asian stores are cheaper)
  • spam
  • cabbage (as much as you want. I put in about 1/3 of my cabbage in because I really like a lot of it in there)
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar (white works too)
  • pepper
  • 1-2 tablespoons teriyaki sauce (NOTE: Both the soy sauce and teriyaki sauce amounts depend on how much cabbage you use. Taste as you go along)
  • olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat up some water and pour into a bowl with the udon noodles (I usually use my water boiler). This will loosen them up so that it is easier to fry later
  2. Rinse and chop the cabbage into smaller pieces. They do not have to be too small because it shrinks a lot when fried. Put a lot more than you want in your stir fry because once they start to cook, they shrink a lot in size
  3. Cube 2 very thin slices of spam
  4. Loosen up your udon noodles and drain well
  5. This is what everything looks like prepared. I initially planned to use the udon packet, but decided not to because it already tasted great with the other seasoning. Also, I added extra cabbage after I started cooking so what you see in the picture is about 66% how much I actually added.
  6. IMG_2400
  7. Put some olive oil in a fry pan and start frying the cabbages
  8. Once they have cooked a little bit, add the soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, and brown sugar
  9. Add the spam, noodles, and a dash of pepper
  10. Once everything is thoroughly cooked, it is ready to serve! After you put all the ingredients together, it should be ready to eat in a couple of minutes
  11. ENJOY!
2 thoughts on “Super Simple Udon Stir Fry

  1. Ahh!! Seriously, I hate scrolling through facebook because everything you post makes me drool and want to eat!! But I’m glad you made this blog, now I can learn how to make korean/asian dishes! love what you’ve posted so far. keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

