Things to Put in Your Ramen!

I used to eat ramen EVERY SINGLE DAY freshman, sophomore, and part of junior year of college. It was easy to make, quick, and yummy. I try not to eat so much these days and cook healthier meals, but there are days when I am too lazy to make anything worth instagramming. That doesn’t mean that your ramen has to be the same bland flavor every day, though. You can add lots of ingredients to amp up your ramen. You can add just one, or a combo of these!

  1. Egg: My go to add-in for my ramen. There are many ways to add in your egg. You can hard boil it, poach it, fry it, etc. My favorite way is cracking it directly into the boiling broth and stirring it quickly to make it kind of scrambled. I don’t really like the flavor of cooked yolk, so I don’t let the yolk cook alone. I’ve recently been liking the taste of raw yolk, though, so I sometimes drop it directly into the broth and let it poach for a few seconds before bringing it out of the boiling soup. Either way, it’s a nice way to add some protein into your ramen and kind of dilute the spiciness a little bit.
  2. Green Onions: Chop them up and sprinkle over the top at the end as a garnish. It gives the ramen a little “oniony” kick and adds a nice flavor to the traditional soup.
  3. Mushrooms (any kind works): I’ve used the regular white mushrooms, shiitake, enoki, king oyster, etc. Any kind works. I LOVE mushrooms and the soup just gets soaked up in the mushroom and makes it so juicy. Mmm…
  4. Cheese (American sliced cheese): This one may sound a litttttttle weird if you haven’t tried it before. I thought it was weird too, until I tried it! It gives the ramen a creamier taste but you don’t taste the actual cheese in the soup. Try it when you’re feeling a little adventurous 😉
  5. Kimchi: Adds flavor and gives you some crunch. I wouldn’t recommend putting in the kimchi juice because it thickens the broth too much and gives it a bit of a sour taste. If you like that, go for it!
  6. Spam: As you may or may not know by now, I LOVE Spam. It’s definitely not good to add more unhealthiness to ramen, but it’s SO good. You either love spam or you hate it. If you’re a Spam lover, you should try it in your ramen!
  7. Bean Sprouts: Gives the ramen a nice little crunch. I’m not a huge fan of putting bean sprouts into my ramen, but I know others like it.
  8. Sausages: Add sausage, spam, kimchi, and red pepper paste, and you’ve got yourself Budae Jjigae, otherwise known as Army Soup! Army soup is a Korean stew made with the ingredients listed, and it is SOOOOO good with rice. It’s sometimes even topped with cheese!
  9. Tuna: I’ve tried this once and I wasn’t a huge fan of it, but I know others who really like it. Just plop some tuna from a can into your ramen, and mix in!
  10. Milk: This one may sound strange too, and I personally haven’t tried it. However, I watched a TV show where it was tested to decrease any kind of swelling or bloating after eating it. On the show, the participants ate ramen with milk in it and went straight to sleep. When they woke up, no bloating or swelling at all! It sounds a bit (or maybe a lot) weird to test for bloating after eating ramen, but now we know! Give it a try if you need to keep the bloating down.
  11. Dumplings: Dumpling ramen is so good. Just buy a pack of frozen dumplings and plop some in while you’re cooking. It will fill you up instead of leaving you full for 30 minutes after eating.
  12. Dduk or rice cakes: They add a delicious chew to your ramen!
  13. Rice: Once your noodles are all eaten, try putting in some cold rice. It is SO good and filling.

I’m sure there are other DELICIOUS additions that you can put into your ramen, so if you have any suggestions, comment and let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

