Jang Jo Rim (장조림)

My most vivid memories of eating jangjorim as a child were of me NOT being able to eat it…weird, right? Whenever my whole family would go on vacation to Tahoe or even Hawaii, my grandma would make jangjorim and take it with us in a tupperware. Since the babies (aka my youngest cousins) were somewhat picky and couldn’t eat the local food, she would mix the jangjorim with rice and egg and let them eat their meal before the rest of the family went out to eat ours. It always smelled SO good and my sister and I would ask if we could eat the jangjorim too, but my grandma always only made enough for the babies. Thus, my sister and I ended up sitting on the side watching them eat, mouths watering, and wishing we could just get one bite. Now, I can make a big batch and eat it whenever I want! It tastes the same as when my grandma used to make it, and brings back so many memories. I hope you can create your own memories through this dish too 🙂

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb beef (any kind of beef that will tear into strips)
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 onion
  • few strips of green onion
  • 2-3 pieces of dried kelp
  • 1 tbsp honey (I didn’t add the honey one time and it still tasted just as good)
  • 1 serrano pepper cut in half
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • hard boiled eggs (as many as you want)
  • **You can use quail eggs if you want! They’re like eggs but much smaller and cuter :p

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cut the beef into chunks and place in cold water
  2. IMG_5891
  3. Boil 4 cups of water and place the meat into the pot
  4. Boil meat for 50 mins to one hour
  5. Take the meat out and drain the broth through a coffee filter in a sieve. This will take out the unnecessary fat.
  6. Place the meat back into the pot along with 2 cups of the beef broth that you made, soy sauce, onion, green onion, dried kelp, honey, garlic, your peeled hard boiled eggs
  7. you can tell that I'm really bad at peeling eggs..

    If you don’t want your eggs to look like this, click here.

  8. IMG_5899
  9. Boil for about 20-30 minutes
  10. Taste and add extra broth if it is too salty
  11. Remove the eggs and meat and shred the meat with a fork
  12. IMG_5900
  13. IMG_5903
  14. Drain the soy sauce broth one more time through a coffee filter. You have already drawn out the flavors from the other ingredients so you can take them out
  15. IMG_5901
  16. Add the meat and eggs back into the now clear soy sauce broth and it’s ready!
  17. IMG_5905

    These eggs were THE WORST to peel…check out the boiled egg recipe for easy peel eggs!

  18. I’ve noticed that it tastes better the day after I make it, but you can eat it right away
  19. Also, try to boil it once a day so that it does not spoil, or put it in the refrigerator. Mix with rice and enjoy as a meal!
  20. ENJOY! And let me know how it goes 🙂
  21. I like to mix the meat and broth with rice and pickled ginger. How do you like to eat your Jangjorim?
Leave a Reply

